Jump to: navigation, search

Workbench Configuration

The Workbench Configuration Console allows the user to manage, configure and view the state/status of the Workbench components.

WB 9.1 Login Home.png

The Workbench 'Configuration Console' has the following sub menus:

  • Overview
    • Gain an at-a-glance overview of the state, status and content of the Workbench components and features
  • General
    • System Data Retention Period
      • this applies to the data stored within Workbench and the duration for which its stored; if this setting is enabled, data will be permanently deleted post this value; the default is Enabled and 30 days
        • Note: Data Retention values not updated in real-time when viewing this page
    • Alarm Expiration
      • this applies to the 'Workbench' Active Alarms duration, if not resolved, if this setting is enabled, Workbench alarms (not Genesys Engage) will be automatically closed post this value - i.e. to avoid manually clearing 100 Channel Monitoring active alarms, they would be automatically cleared post this value; the default is Enabled an 172800 seconds (2 days)
        • Note: Alarm Expiration values not updated in real-time when viewing this page
    • Session Expiration
      • this applies to the timeout of sessions; Users will be auto logged out of Workbench if/when a new request is greater than the Session Expiration; if/when the Session Expiration settting is unchecked/disabled, Users will never be auto logged out
  • Hosts
    • These are either Workbench hosts or Engage hosts
    • Engage hosts will only be present if the Workbench Agent is installed on the respective Engage host (i.e. SIP Server host)
    • Only deploy the Workbench Agent on Engage hosts that you wish to ingest metric data (CPU/RAM/DISK/NETWORK) from
    • This Configuration section allows read-only visibility of Workbench Host Objects
      • The WB Host objects can be:
        • Deleted (i.e. should there be a need to move/re-install Workbench Additional components to a new Host/Server)
Warning
  • Use the Delete option with extreme caution; please read and uderstand these instructions before progressing.
  • This will permanently delete the WB Host Object from the WB UI and also backend configuration
  • The WB Delete action will NOT delete the respective binaries from the host; that will be a manual task via the respective host post deleting in the WB UI
Warning
  • WB Primary Host deletion is NOT supported - only Workbench Additional Hosts/Nodes can be deleted
  • Pre-Cluster formation
    • Delete WB Secondary WB Host object from configuration page under Host section
      • ALL associated WB component config data will be permanently removed
      • Now and only when the WB Host is deleted, delete the associated Hosts WB Application component config objects one-by-one under Applications section
  • Post-Cluster formation WB Host deletion is NOT recommended
  • Applications
    • In Workbench 9.1 there are 8 x Workbench Application Objects:
      • Workbench IO (for WB UI and integration to Genesys Engage including the Channel Monitoring feature)
      • Workbench Agent (for WB status, control and configuration - in WB 9.0 Workbench Agents are ONLY installed on Workbench hosts, not Genesys Engage hosts)
      • Workbench Elasticsearch (for WB storage)
      • Workbench Kibana (for WB UI)
      • Workbench Logstash (an ETL pipeline primarily relating to Workbench Agent Metric data ingestion)
      • Workbench Heartbeat (for WB component health monitoring)
      • Workbench Metricbeat (for Host/Process Metric data ingestion in conjunction with the Workbench Agent component)
      • Workbench ZooKeeper (for WB configuration)
    • This Configuration section allows visibility and managment of the Application Objects above
      • The Application Objects can be:
        • Renamed (i.e. "WB_IO_Primary" to "APAC_WB_IO_P")
        • Edited (i.e. change the [WB_Kibana_Primary\HTTP Port] setting from the default 8181 to 9191)
        • Deleted (not the Workbench Primary host Applications)
Warning
  • Use the Delete option with extreme caution; please read and uderstand these instructions before progressing.
  • This will permanently delete the WB Application Object from the WB UI and also backend configuration
  • If the Workbench IO, Workbench Agent or Workbench Kibana Application Types are deleted, a full re-install will be required
  • The WB Delete action will NOT delete the respective binaries from the host; that will be a manual task via the respective host
Warning
  • WB Primary Host deletion is NOT supported - only Workbench Additional Hosts/Nodes can be deleted
  • Pre-Cluster formation
    • Delete WB Secondary WB Host object from configuration page under Host section
      • ALL associated WB component config data will be permanently removed
      • Only when the WB Host object is deleted, delete the associated Hosts WB Application component config objects one-by-one under Applications section
  • Post-Cluster formation WB Application deletion is NOT recommended
  • Data-Centers
    • The Data-Center(s) name(s) are provided during WB installation and will be displayed according to the value(s) entered
  • Auditing
    • The Workbench Audit Console is similar to the Changes Console but also provide visibility of WB User Logins/Logouts; the Audit events will also evolve overtime
      • Note: Audit events are not updated in real-time when viewing this page

WB 9.1 Auditing.png

Configuration Edit Example

This example below show the "WB_IO_Primary" application being edited:

  • The application name is being changed from "WB_IO_Primary" to "WB_IO_Pri"
  • There's indication that 1 option/setting and has modified
  • The Save button is enabled and when the user clicks Save the application will be subseqently renamed.

WB 9.1 Application Rename.png

This page was last edited on December 24, 2020, at 17:38.
blog comments powered by Disqus