Jump to: navigation, search

Free Seating

Starting with Release 8.0.301.04, UC Connector supports "free seating”, in which users (could be Agents or Knowledge Workers) are not tied to a particular place in the configuration. Instead, the agent and DN are dynamically assigned based on the attribute AgentID of the corresponding TLib events:

  • EventRegistered
  • EventAgentLogin
  • EventAgentLogout

Free seating is in addition to the currently supported static agent and DN assignment based on the default Place.

With free seating, UC Connector supports a user logging into any Place with Person/password details, and then using the DN associated with that Place. The dynamically-assigned DN will be unassigned when the user logs out from the DN. If the DN is subsequently statically assigned to another user by configuration, the dynamic assignment is canceled.

UC Connector can dynamically link a Knowledge Worker and Place if the following conditions are met:

  1. user-auto-registration = true
  2. sync-when-logout = true
  3. UC Connector is connected to Lync / Skype for Business.

Free Seating and Web Interface Login

The free seating feature supports Knowledge Workers logging into a UC Connector web UI. In this case:

  • UC Connector only uses the Knowledge Workers default Place.
  • UC Connector will show all assigned agent DNs.
  • Any dynamically-assigned DN disappears after logout.
  • Preview and Call Control UIs are available for all assigned DNs.
  • A statically-unassigned DN (if previously dynamically assigned to another Knowledge Worker ) is marked by yellow triangle:

UCCLyncIntegWebLogin.png

Statically-Assigned DNs

UC Connector continues its support of static DN assignment to Knowledge Workers (agents) using the default Place. UC Connector updates the DN list based on the following events:

Event UC Connector Processing
Configuration Processing On startup, UC Connector reads all agents, Places and DNs from the Configuration. An Initial list of the agent DNs is created based on each agent’s default Place.
Adding a DN to a Place When a new DN is added to an agent’s default Place, UC Connector processes the corresponding event from Configuration Server and assigns the new DN to the agent. In the case where another agent is logged into the DN, the DN is marked as “unassigned” for the agent.
Removing a DN from a Place When an existing DN is removed from an agent’s default Place, UC Connector processes the corresponding event from Configuration Server and removes the DN from the agent. In the case where the agent is logged into the DN, the DN is marked as “dynamic” and kept assigned to the agent until logout.
Default Place Change When an agent’s default Place is changed (or assigned), UC Connector processes the corresponding event from Configuration Server and updates the agent’s DN list accordingly. See “Adding DN to a Place” and “Removing DN from a Place” above.
Adding a New Agent Login When an Agent Login is added to an agent’s Login list, UC Connector processes the corresponding event from Configuration Server. If the corresponding Login Code is already being used by the agent, a re-login is required.
Removing an Agent Login When an Agent Login is removed from an agent’s Login list, UC Connector processes the corresponding event from Configuration Server. If the corresponding Login Code is already being used by the agent, the corresponding DN is kept in the “logged in” state.
Login to the Default Place UC Connector sends RequestAgentLogin for the DN under default Place in the following cases:

Feedback

Comment on this article:

blog comments powered by Disqus
This page was last modified on June 27, 2016, at 14:20.