Jump to: navigation, search

DN Groups

DN Groups are logical groupings of DNs. You can use DN Groups in network-level routing algorithms and in some types of statistics. To determine if you need to set up DN Groups, refer to your solution-specific documentation.

When you are specifying a DN Group, remember that the DNs in each DN Group must have the same telephony event model.

Although a DN Group can contain DNs that belong to a number of different Switches, you can receive correct statistical information about this DN Group only if the reporting applications connect to the servers associated with those Switches.

DN Group Types

The following are DN Group types and types of DNs that you can include in a group:

[+] Show types

Viewing DN Groups

The DN Groups list shows the DN Groups that are in your environment. It is sorted in a hierarchy by Tenants, configuration units, sites, and folders. To view objects by a particular hierarchy, select the hierarchy type in the drop-down menu above the list.

Important
DN Groups that are disabled appear grayed out in the list.

Configuration Manager respects tenancy permission settings. You can access only those objects that you have been granted permissions and privileges to access.

You can filter the contents of this list in two ways:

  • Type the name or partial name of an object in the Quick Filter field.
  • Click the cube icon to open the Tenant Directory filter panel. In this panel, click the Tenant that you want to select. Use the Quick Filter field in this panel to filter the Tenant list.

You can sort the items in the list by clicking a column head. Clicking a column head a second time reverses the sort order. You can add or remove columns by clicking Select Columns.

To select or de-select multiple objects at once, click Select.

Working With DN Groups

To create a new DN Group object, click New. To view or edit details of an existing object, click the name of the object, or click the check box beside an object and click Edit.

To delete one or more objects, click the check box beside the object(s) in the list and click Delete. You can also delete individual objects by clicking on the object and then clicking Delete.

Important
When you delete a DN Group, only the DN Group object itself is removed from the Configuration Database. Its member DN objects are not deleted.

Otherwise, click More to perform the following tasks:

  • Clone—Copy a DN Group.
  • Move To—Move a DN Group to another hierarchical structure.
  • Enable or disable DN Groups.
  • Create a folder, configuration unit, or site. See Object Hierarchy for more information.

Creating DN Groups

To create a DN Group, do the following:

[+] Show steps

CSV File for Importing and Exporting

You can use the Bulk Import/Export functionality to import DN Groups from, and export DN Groups to, a comma-separated value (CSV), file. The import file used for importing and the export file created by exporting data are fully compatible, and a single file can be used for both importing and exporting. Or, if you wish, you can create the import file yourself, using the general CSV information in this Help file, and the object-specific information contained in this section.

Fields of the CSV File

The source file is a text file in a comma-separated (CSV) format, with an extension of .csv.

In the source file each line represents a single DN Group. The same DN Group can appear in the source file only once. The unique identifier of the DN Group in the scope of the source file is the field.

The columns of the file are the properties of a DN Group. The first row in the file has column names to identify the fields. The order of the columns is not important. A comma is inserted after each column header or value, or if the column does not have a value, immediately after the previous comma. Any non-mandatory column can be omitted from the source file, depending on user preference and/or the purpose of the file.

The source file contains the following properties for each user/agent:

Name Type Mandatory Description
Action ADD, UPDATE, DELETE Yes Specifies the action to be taken with this DN Group data, either create a new DN Group (ADD) or modify a DN Group (UPDATE) or delete a DN Group (DELETE).

This column is added automatically by GAX when a file is exported, with a value of UPDATE for all records in it. If you create the source file from scratch, you must add this column manually. In either case, this field is mandatory, and you must provide a value for each record.

Name String Yes Name of DN Group.
Type String Yes Type of DN Group.
Enabled String No This DN Group is enabled (Y) or not enabled (N).

Relational Columns

In addition to the properties and folders in the table above, each row may contain relations between this DN Group and DN objects. Every instance of a DN will have a separate column in the source file. For example, if there are 10 DNs, there will be 10 additional columns in the source file, each column representing each DN. All relational columns are optional.

Each header for a relational column consists of the object type and the object name, which will form a unique column name. So, for example, there cannot be two Skills which have the same name, but a Skill object may have the same name as some Switch object.

Naming and value rules of relational columns are given in the following table:

Type Column Name Valid Values Description
Relational Columns
DN DN:<switch name> / <DN number> Y – Add this DN to this DN Group

N – Remove this DN from this DN Group
<empty> - No action

A DN to be added or removed to this DN Group.

Example

The following data is to be uploaded to GAX to modify two DN Groups:

[+] Show data

The contents of the CSV file for this data looks like this:

Action,Name,Type,DN:Switch1 / 123683,DN:Switch2 / 857463,Enabled
MODIFY,DNGroupEast,Routing Points,Y,,Y
MODIFY,DNGroupWest,Routing Points,N,Y,Y

Feedback

Comment on this article:

blog comments powered by Disqus
This page was last modified on 10 April 2018, at 09:54.