Jump to: navigation, search

Access Groups

Access Groups are groups of Users who need to have the same set of permissions for Configuration Database objects.

In many cases, users fall into a small number of categories with similar access needs. A team of agents all performing the same tasks often has identical access needs. Two or three people responsible for maintaining a specific site of the contact center may also have identical access needs. You can greatly simplify access control by adding individuals to Access Groups and then setting permissions for those groups.

Important
  • The default user account is not related to Access Groups and, therefore, does not appear as a member of any Access Group.
  • For detailed instructions about managing Roles assigned to Access Groups, refer to the Genesys Security Deployment Guide.

The Access Groups list shows the Access Groups that are in your environment. It is sorted in a hierarchy by Tenants, configuration units, sites, and folders. To view objects by a particular hierarchy, select the hierarchy type in the drop-down menu above the list.

Important
Access Groups that are disabled appear grayed out in the list.

Configuration Manager respects tenancy permission settings. You can access only those objects that you have been granted permissions and privileges to access.

You can filter the contents of this list in two ways:

  • Type the name or partial name of an object in the Quick Filter field.
  • Click the cube icon to open the Tenant Directory filter panel. In this panel, click the Tenant that you want to select. Use the Quick Filter field in this panel to filter the Tenant list.

To select or de-select multiple objects at once, click Select.

To create a new Access Group object, click New. To view or edit details of an existing object, click the name of the object, or click the check box beside an object and click Edit. To delete one or more objects, click the check box beside the object(s) in the list and click Delete. You can also delete individual objects by clicking on the object and then clicking Delete.

Important
When you delete an Access Group, only the Access Group object itself is removed from the Configuration Database. Its member objects—Access Group and User objects—are not deleted.

Otherwise, select the check box beside one or more objects and click More to perform the following tasks:

  • Clone—Copy an Access Group.
  • Move To—Move an Access Group to another hierarchical structure.
  • Enable or disable Access Groups
  • Create a folder, configuration unit, or site. See Object Hierarchy for more information.

Click the name of an Access Group to view additional information about the object. You can also set options and permissions, and view dependencies.

Procedure: Creating Access Group Objects


Steps

  1. Click New.
  2. Enter the following information. For some fields, you can either enter the name of a value or click Browse to select a value from a list:
    • Name—The name of the Access Group. You must specify a value for this property, and that value must be unique within the Configuration Database (in an enterprise environment) or within the Tenant (in a multi-tenant environment).
    • Tenant—In a multi-tenant environment, the Tenant to which this object belongs. This value is automatically set to the Tenant that was specified in the Tenant Directory field in the object list.
    • State Enabled—If selected, indicates that the object is in regular operating condition and can be used without any restrictions.
  3. For each User to be added to this Group:
    1. Click the Members tab and click Add.
    2. Navigate to the appropriate folder, if necessary, and do one of the following:
      • To add an existing User to the Group, select him or her from the list of Users.
      • To add a new User to the Group, click + to create the User in this folder and then select him or her from the list.
  4. After you have finished creating the Access Group, do one of the following:
    • Click Save to accept the changes and return to the list of Access Groups.
    • Click Apply to accept the changes and return to the General tab of this Access Group.
    • Click Cancel to discard the changes.

Feedback

Comment on this article:

blog comments powered by Disqus
This page was last modified on 27 July 2017, at 12:52.