Jump to: navigation, search

Read Only Mode and Emergency Mode

The Read Only Mode and the Emergency Mode features enable you to restrict users from making changes to the Configuration Database during a Configuration Server maintenance.


Read Only Mode

In this mode, no users can make changes to the Configuration Database.

Emergency Mode

In this mode, only users who are members of the Super Administrators group can make changes to the Configuration Database. Emergency Mode can be helpful, for example, where the Configuration Database itself must undergo some maintenance.

Enable Read Only or Emergency modes

Only members of the Super Administrators group can enable or disable these modes.

To enable Read Only Mode or Emergency Mode, do the following:

  1. On the upper-right of the Configuration Manager view, click the More button beside the Environment button.
  2. Select the required check box to enable the respective mode.

When the server is in Read Only or Emergency mode, a lock icon appears in the GAX header for:

  • All currently logged in users
  • All users logging in while GAX is in Read Only Mode or Emergency Mode

Hovering over the lock icon shows a tooltip with the currently active mode.

When either Read Only Mode or Emergency Mode is activated, Configuration Server notifies all the users working in the Configuration Layer that Read Only Mode is now active. An appropriate error message is displayed for any GAX user who attempts to update or save any configuration objects while the Configuration Server is in one of these two modes. Only Super Administrators can update the objects while the Configuration Server is in Emergency Mode.

Important
  • If the GAX browser instance that has switched the Configuration Layer to be in Read Only Mode is connected to Configuration Server, then you can switch back to normal operation mode only through the same browser.
  • If the GAX browser terminates abnormally, or disconnects from the network:
    1. Run another instance of GAX.
    2. Log on to an account that is a member of the Super Administrators user group.
    3. Return the system to normal operation mode.

    In addition, If the host computer on which the GAX server is running shuts down or disconnects from the network, either let GAX come back on its own if auto-restart is on, or bring up the GAX Server application manually, as follows:

    1. From any browser on another computer, connect to the GAX URL.
    2. Log on to an account that is a member of the Super Administrators user group.
    3. Return the system to normal operation mode.

Feedback

Comment on this article:

blog comments powered by Disqus
This page was last modified on December 12, 2018, at 22:18.