Jump to: navigation, search

Permissions and Access

Genesys Designer provides layered access roles to ensure that your users only have access that is appropriate for your business needs—such as the ability to make changes to prompts, business hours, or set an emergency routing flag—without exposing control to the overall application logic.

Designer only permits one user at a time to open an application, shared module, or data table for editing. If you try to open one of these resources and it is already in use, Designer shows you which user has the resource locked. You can then choose to open it as read-only or go back to the previous screen.

If a user has opened an application or module for editing and then goes inactive, their browser eventually displays a timeout warning. If they do not respond, the resource is closed and the lock released.

Designer roles

Designer supports the following user roles:

Designer Developer

Designer Developers have the ability to view and modify all resource types within Designer, with the exception of features that are restricted to Designer Administrators (such as managing partitions and user accounts).

Designer Business User

Designer Business Users have limited access to Applications, Speech Grammars, and Shared Modules. They can view these resources, but cannot make any changes to them.

They have full access to Audio Resources, Business Controls (which lets them work with business hours, special days, emergency flags, and data tables), and Analytics.

Business Users can also assign phone numbers to applications.

Designer Administrator

Designer Administrators have full access to the Admin settings for Designer, which includes the ability to manage partitions and control which users have access to them. They can view most of the other resource types in Designer, but cannot make any changes to them.

Important
For full access to all resource types in Designer, a user would need to be assigned to both the Designer Administrator and Developer roles.

Designer Analytics

All Designer roles have access to Analytics. Users assigned only to the Designer Analytics role can view and modify the Analytics dashboards, but do not have access to any other Designer resources.

Designer permissions

The following tables provide a high-level overview of what each role can do with various Designer resources:

Audio Resources

Task Designer Developer Designer Business User Designer Administrator Designer Analytics
View
Modify
Create
Delete

Message Resources

Task Designer Developer Designer Business User Designer Administrator Designer Analytics
View
Modify
Create
Delete

Applications

Task Designer Developer Designer Business User Designer Administrator Designer Analytics
View
Modify
Create
Delete
Switch to last snapshot
Assign phone numbers
Change block properties

Shared Modules

Task Designer Developer Designer Business User Designer Administrator Designer Analytics
View
Modify
Create
Delete

Speech Grammars

Task Designer Developer Designer Business User Designer Administrator Designer Analytics
View
Modify
Create
Delete

Business Controls

Task Designer Developer Designer Business User Designer Administrator Designer Analytics
View
Modify
Create
Delete

Blocks

Task Designer Developer Designer Business User Designer Administrator Designer Analytics
View
Modify
Create
Delete

Restricted mode during upgrades

During upgrades, Designer continues to provide full service, but goes into a restricted mode that only allows selective modifications to be made. While Designer is in this mode, certain objects (such as applications, shared modules, and workspace settings) are locked for editing until the upgrade is complete. You can, however, continue to make changes to objects such as business controls, audio resources, and grammars.

Feedback

Comment on this article:

blog comments powered by Disqus
This page was last modified on 26 June 2018, at 13:51.