Jump to: navigation, search

Updating Decision Tables

When editing or updating a decision table rule, you can insert or remove condition or action columns only after all of the data in the table has been validated (no red lines are visible). This restriction prevents you from losing unsaved data that you have just entered. If you accidentally insert the wrong condition or action, or accidentally delete a condition or action column, you can click Cancel to revert the rule back to the last saved version.  

Clicking Cancel results in the loss of any data that has been entered into the table, but not saved.

When adding rows to a decision table rule, it is important to fix all of the validation errors on that row before attempting to add or delete any new condition or action columns, to prevent loss of data in the row on which you are working.

To update an existing decision table:

  1. Navigate to the rule package to which the decision table belongs in the Explorer Tree (verify that you have selected the correct Tenant from the Tenant drop-down list). Select the correct node in the Explorer Tree (the level at which the rule was defined) and click the Rules tab.
  2. Important
    You can also use the Search feature to locate rules.
  3. Locate the decision table in the list and update the information as needed. Refer to Creating Decision Tables for details about the fields that can be updated. Any changes that you make to the Rule Summary are saved automatically. Click Save to save any changes made to the body of the rule. Provide a check-in comment that summarizes the changes you made. This will appear in the Audit History.
  4. Important
    When you make any modifications to the body of a rule, you "lock" the rule, which prevents others from being able to make changes to the same rule at the same time. The unsaved icon Grs auth-tool unsaved.gif will appear on the rule summary to alert you that you need to save your changes. For any other user, the locked icon Grs auth-tool lock.gif appears on the rule summary and the Save and Cancel buttons are disabled. In addition, other users are unable to make changes to the rule because it is marked "read only".

When you are editing rules, be careful not to clear your browsing history or cookie data, as this might cause the rule to be stuck in a locked state. Unsaved changes could be lost.

Comment on this article:

blog comments powered by Disqus
This page was last modified on 28 April 2017, at 04:07.