Configuration History Log
The Configuration History Log consists of a set of a records that contains historical information about client sessions and changes to configuration objects. It enables a client to restore a session that was terminated by a service interruption, and request any changes to configuration objects that occurred during that service interruption.
For all Configuration Servers, the records are stored in the Configuration Database. Configuration Server Proxy reads the information from its primary Configuration Server.
The History Log is installed with default parameters when you install Configuration Server. You configure the History Log parameters in the options of the Configuration Server Application object in Genesys Administrator. Refer to the Framework Configuration Options Reference Manual for detailed descriptions of the configuration options that relate to the History Log.
When requested by a client that is recovering from a service interruption, Configuration Server or Configuration Server Proxy does the following:
- Restores the client's session according to a client session record.
- Returns all data that has been changed since that client disconnected.
History Log functionality is mandatory, and cannot be turned off permanently.
History Log Maintenance
No maintenance is required for the History Log, because it is maintained automatically by Configuration Server. The history log records are stored in the Configuration Database and are maintained using configuration records. Based on the expiration parameters, Configuration Server purges information from the database, both at startup and during normal operations.
History Log Errors
Any errors that occur when writing to the History Log generate Log Event 21-22138.
Minimizing Performance Impacts
Depending partially on the size of the updates, the History Log can affect the performance of Configuration Server. To minimize these performance impacts, you can turn off the History Log functionality temporarily by setting the active option to false for the Configuration Server Application object. The functionality will be turned back on either when you manually reset the option (to true), or when you restart Configuration Server.
If you want to keep the History Log active (that is, active=true, consider setting write-former-value=false when performing large or significant updates. This will prevent previous values from being written to the history database, but will greatly improve performance.
Refer to the Framework Configuration Options Reference Manual for more information about the options used to configure the Configuration Server History Log.