Jump to: navigation, search

Manage Preset Views

Views are sets of widgets in a particular layout that are visible in the Views page. Preset Views are Views that are designed by administrators or managers for use by other users. They are designed in the Tools page and then published to the Views pages of specified users.

If you have the necessary permissions, you can create, publish, and manage Preset Views, as explained in this section. For an overview of Views and the Views page, see Views.


You create a new Preset View by designing a layout for the View and publishing it to the Views pages of users with specified roles. For each role you select, you also specify the permissions for the Preset View - whether a user with that role can modify or delete the View in their Views page.

To design a new preset view

  1. In the Main Menu, under Tools, select System Admin > Preset Views.
  2. The Preset Views screen opens.

  3. Click New.
  4. A New Preset View dialog box opens.

    New preset.PNG

  5. Under Name, type a name for the Preset View.
  6. Under Description, type a description for the Preset View.
  7. Although you can add roles to the Preset View at this time, it is recommended that you design the view (add widgets and set the layout) before adding the roles. When you have finalized the design, add the roles and publish the Preset View as described below.

  8. Click Save.
  9. A blank Preset View appears.

  10. Use the Add Widgets and Change Settings options to create the View, and edit the settings of the widgets as necessary.
  11. For detailed information about how to do this, see Managing Views and Managing Widgets.

  12. When you have finished designing the Preset View, in the upper-right corner of the screen, click Back to Preset Views.
  13. The Preset View closes, and the Preset Views screen is displayed. The new Preset View appears in the list of Preset Views in the screen.

    Important
    Once you have designed the Preset View, you can set the user roles to which you want to publish the Preset View and the permissions each type of user will have to modify the Preset View.
  14. In the Preset Views screen, in the list of Preset Views, click the name of the Preset View, or click Edit.
  15. The Edit Preset View dialog box opens.

  16. Under Permissions, under Role Name, select one of the user roles to which you want to publish the Preset View.
  17. To the left of the selected role, click Add. A permissions row is added for the selected role.
  18. Check boxes appear in the row for each type of permission.

  19. Select the check box associated with each permission you want to grant to users of the selected role.
  20. Repeat the previous three steps for each role to which you want to publish the Preset View.
  21. Publish the Preset View as described in Publish Preset View.


See also

Monitor System
Purge System
Manage Cache
Interactions Administration
System Configuration
Manage Alerts
System Alerts



After you create a new Preset View or modify an existing one, you must publish the View in order for it to appear in users' Views pages in its current form. Published Preset Views appear in the pages of all users whose roles appear in the View's permission settings. If you republish a Preset View that was already published before, the new version overwrites the existing version in all users' Views pages.

Important
When you republish a Preset View, all local changes to the View that were made by individual users are removed; the new version of the View replaces all existing versions.

To publish preset views

  1. In the Preset Views screen, in the list of Preset Views, select the check box beside each Preset View you want to publish.
  2. At the upper-left of the screen, click the Reset button.
  3. You are prompted to confirm that you want this version of each selected Preset View to overwrite any previous versions of the same Views that may already be on users' Views pages.

  4. Click OK.
  5. The new Preset View is published to the Views pages of all users with the roles you specified.


See also

Monitor System
Purge System
Manage Cache
Interactions Administration
System Configuration
Manage Alerts
System Alerts



You can edit the name, description, and permissions of any of the Preset Views you created. The changes are implemented as soon as you save them; you do not have to republish the Views after you change their settings.

To edit the permissions of an existing Preset View

  1. In the Preset Views screen, in the list of Preset Views, click the name of the View, or click Edit.
  2. The Edit Preset View dialog box opens.

    Modify the name, description, and permissions as required.
  3. Click Save.
  4. The changes are saved and published to user's Views pages. If you removed a user's role from the list of permissions, the View is removed from the user's Views page.


    See also

    Monitor System
    Purge System
    Manage Cache
    Interactions Administration
    System Configuration
    Manage Alerts
    System Alerts


You can modify the layout and widget set of any of the Preset Views you created. Once you do this, you must publish the View again to implement the changes on users' Views pages.

Important
When you republish a Preset View, all local changes to the View that were made by individual users are removed; the new version of the View replaces all existing versions.

To modify the layout of an existing Preset View

  1. In the Preset Views screen, in the list of Preset Views, under Layout, click the 20px icon.
  2. The current Preset View is displayed.

  3. Modify the layout and selection of widgets as required.
  4. For detailed information about working with the layout and widgets, see Managing Views and Managing Widgets.

  5. When you have finished designing the Preset View, in the upper-right corner of the screen, click Back to Preset Views.
  6. The Preset View closes, and the Preset Views screen is displayed.

  7. To publish the changes to user's Views pages, follow the instructions in Publish Preset View.


See also

Monitor System
Purge System
Manage Cache
Interactions Administration
System Configuration
Manage Alerts
System Alerts


You can delete a Preset View. When you do so, the View is removed from the Views pages of all users and from the list of Preset Views in the Tools page.

To delete a Preset View

  1. In the Preset Views screen, in the list of Preset Views, select the check box beside each Preset View you want to delete.
  2. In the upper-left of the screen, click the Delete 20px icon.
  3. You are prompted to confirm that you want to delete the selected Preset Views.

  4. Click OK.
  5. The selected Preset Views are removed from all users Views pages and from the list of Preset Views.


See also

Monitor System
Purge System
Manage Cache
Interactions Administration
System Configuration
Manage Alerts
System Alerts


This page was last edited on April 6, 2015, at 08:11.
blog comments powered by Disqus