Jump to: navigation, search

MS SQL Database Replication

In this topic, find information that will help you to replicate and maintain your MS SQL database for your Workforce Management deployment, based on the assumption that there is an existing single database instance.

Before you begin replicating the database, ensure that the existing instance is updated to the latest version. For new WFM installations, create a database as described in Create Your WFM Database.

This topic includes the following sections:

System Requirements

The replication solution requires MS SQL Server 2008 R2 Enterprise Edition server.

Back to Top

Setting Up the Database Replication

There are two ways to set up the replication: copying during replication and copying before replication]].
(Click the plus sign to display procedures.)

[+]

Back to Top

Maintaining Database Replication

After you have backed up your database, you can use the procedure and other information in this section to restore it.
(Click the plus sign to display procedure.)

[+]

Replication Issues

Due to unforeseen usage scenarios or operational mistakes in access rights configuration, there might be occasional data collisions caused by replication. Solve these collisions on a case-by-case basis, using MSSQL conflict resolution tools.

Back to Top

Application-Level Access Limitations

Genesys recommends that you deploy the WFM application so that all actively running WFM Server and WFM Data Aggregator components access the same database instance. (Actively running means that these components are updating the database.) You could set up WFM Configuration Utility instances to access and write to different instances of database; If you do, Genesys recommends certain applications and user restrictions (see Site Access Rights and Module Access Rights.

Using certain deployment and access limitations ensures that multiple database instances are not modifying the same data at the same time. The MSSQL database replication does not resolve data collisions caused by complex simultaneous modifications of the same data records on different database instances. To prevent collisions on the application level, assign access rights and restrict certain functionality so that it is performed only on the main database instance.

Site Access Rights

When you are configuring the system you must decide which site will be configured by using WFM Configuration Utility, and on which database instance.

For users who connect to that instance and want to change the data by using WFM Configuration Utility, you must limit access to only those sites that are to be modified in that particular database instance.

Module Access Rights

The WFM Configuration Utility contains functionality that involves the modification of data for multiple sites, or data that is not related to a site object and therefore, cannot be protected by site access rights. There are also subsystems which provide access to data that is also modified by WFM Server through the WFM Web interface. Accessibility to this functionality must be limited only to users who are connecting to the main database by using the Configuration Utility.

The following list of subsystems, menu items, or functions must be restricted in local database instances, and be available only to users who are connecting to the main database server.

  • Main Synchronization—Security option: General > Allow synchronization
  • Agents Update—Security option: General > Allow synchronization
  • Global Settings—Security option General > Allow to modify Global settings
  • User Security—Security option Configuration > User Security
  • Skills—Security option Configuration > Skills
  • Time Zones—Security option Configuration > Time Zones
  • Organization/BU, Sites—Enable only the security option Configuration > Organization > Add/Edit/Delete
  • Organization Teams—These can be accessible on remote sites, but only in read only mode. Enable only the security option Configuration > Organization > Read
  • Schedule State Groups—Enable only the security option Configuration > Schedule State Groups
Important
On the Master database, users must enable both options: Modules > Configuration > Organization > Read and Modules > Configuration > Organization > Add/Edit/Delete. This setting enables users to perform any action on BUs, Sites and Teams.

In Remote locations, users must enable only Modules > Configuration > Organization > Read. This setting enables users to move agents between teams, but they cannot delete or create a BU, site or team.

Disable the Modules > Configuration > Organization > Add/Edit/Delete option for users who connect to and work on remote locations or databases.

Back to Top

This page was last modified on October 16, 2013, at 11:57.

Feedback

Comment on this article:

blog comments powered by Disqus