Jump to: navigation, search

Rollback Procedures

If the upgrade of any of the GVP components is unsuccessful, or if you want to roll back to the earlier GVP release, do the following:

  1. Stop GVP, or verify that it is stopped.
  2. Uninstall the GVP Applications (the version you were migrating to), and then delete them from Genesys Administrator.
  3. Reinstall the GVP Applications (the version you were migrating from).
    • If you not only uninstalled the GVP Applications but also deleted them in Genesys Administrator (in other words, they are no longer in the Configuration Database), you must recreate, configure, and install them as you would for new installations, as described in the GVP 8.5 Deployment Guide, except that you must use GVP Application Templates.
    • If you uninstalled the GVP Applications but have not yet deleted them in Genesys Administrator (in other words, they are still in the Configuration Database), run the Installation Wizard to install them, as described in the GVP 8.5 Deployment Guide.
    • If the reason for the rollback relates to Genesys Administrator issues, roll back Genesys Administrator to release 8.1 or 8.0, as described in the Management Framework part of the GVP 8.5 Deployment Guide. Then reinstall the GVP Applications, as described in the GVP 8.5 Deployment Guide.
  4. For each component, reinstate any custom configuration you may have lost in the rollback process.
  5. Roll back the Reporting Server database schema, and recover the GVP Reporting Server database. Genesys recommends that a qualified DBA perform the database recovery. See the tabs Microsoft SQL Server Database Rollback and Oracle Database Rollback on this page.
  6. Restart the GVP Applications. For startup requirements, see GVP Migration step Start GVP 8.5.0.
    Tip
    Consult Professional Services regarding migration of any and all customized Genesys products.

Use this recovery procedure to roll back the Microsoft SQL Server.

  1. Use Microsoft SQL Server Management Studio to connect to the Microsoft SQL Server, and log in using SA or the Windows Authentication account.
  2. Remove the current Reporting Server database (the version you were migrating to):
    1. Ensure that the name of the database you backed up previously does not exist on the database server.
    2. If you have used the same name for the database that you have just migrated, delete the database:
      1. Right-click the database name and select Delete.
      2. In the Delete Object dialog, check Close existing connections and click OK. The Databases tree no longer shows the deleted database.
  3. Restore the Reporting Server database (the version you were migrating from):
    1. In the Management Studio Object Explorer window, right-click Databases, and select Restore database.
    2. In the section, Specify the source and location of backup sets to restore, click the From device radio button.
    3. At the end of the From device field, click the (...) browse button.
    4. When the Specify Backup dialog appears, click Add.
    5. When the File selection dialog appears, browse to the backup file.
    6. Click OK twice to confirm and save the settings.
  4. In the Restore database dialog, select Restore for the backup sets you selected in Step 3, and click OK.
  5. When the restore process is successfully completed and the confirmation dialog box appears, click OK.

The procedure to rollback the Oracle database should be performed by a qualified database administrator (DBA). Visit the Oracle web site for more information about database recovery and rollback procedures. Genesys recommends you obtain version-appropriate reference material from these Google searches:

If you find this material to be too complex, use the following procedure as a guideline to backup and restore the database schema.
Warning
The following steps are intended to present concepts and are not the actual commands to rollback the Oracle database. A qualified DBA should be familiar with the guidelines presented here and be able to determine how they relate to the actual commands to rollback your Oracle database to the original configuration.
  1. Back up (or export) the schema:
    Run these commands from a system console:
    • Windows: C:\oracle\product\10.2.0\db_1\BIN>exp userid=system/password file=rs_8xx.dmp log=rs_8xx_exp.log owner=reporting
    • Linux: $ORACLE_HOME/bin/exp userid=system/password file=rs_8xx.dmp log=rs_8xx_exp.log owner=reporting
  2. Connect to the Oracle database as SYSDBA, using any SQL client.
    1. Delete the RS user named: reporting.
    2. Using the same default values for tablespace, temp tablespace, role, and privileges: recreate the RS user by using the same name: reporting.
  3. Restore the schema.
    Run this import command from a system console:
    • Windows: C:\oracle\product\10.2.0\db_1\BIN>imp userid=system/password file=rs_8xx.dmp log=rs_8xx_imp.log fromuser=reporting
    • Linux: $ORACLE_HOME/bin/imp userid=system/password file=rs_8xx.dmp log=rs_8xx_imp.log

    How to Measure Success

    • The rollback completes with no errors in the console window output.
    • The Reporting Server starts with no errors in the RS log.
    Tip
    In this procedure, the rs_8xx.dmp and rs_8xx.imp.log filenames represent the versions you are backing up and restoring. For example, if you are backing up the 8.1.1 schema, then the filenames would be rs_811.dmp and rs_811.imp.log.

Feedback

Comment on this article:

blog comments powered by Disqus
This page was last modified on 21 June 2016, at 10:50.