Jump to: navigation, search

Persons (Users)

Persons (or users) are the contact-center personnel, including agents, who need access to Genesys applications. Agents are users who handle customer interactions directly. Non-agent users include managers and supervisors.

User management starts in the Persons window, a central location for creating, provisioning, and managing user accounts. Select Persons in the Accounts tile of the Configuration Manager toolbar to open it.


[+] What if I want to manage just agents, not other users?

What do you want to do?


How do I view users?

The Persons window lists the users, both agents and non-agents, in your environment. You can quickly distinguish between agents and non-agents by looking at the icon to the left of the object name, as follows:

      BEC-PA-852-AgentIcon.png Agent

      BEC-PA-852-NonAgentIcon.png Non-agent

See How do I view resources for the different ways to use the Persons window to see the agents in your call center.

How do I create a new user?

Important
If you are creating a new agent, the method of creating one and setting it up to to handle customer interactions, as described in this topic, requires that you assign all of the properties yourself. If you prefer to use a simpler method, in which some properties, such as DNs and Agent Logins, are created and assigned automatically, consider creating the agent account from the Agents window of Configuration Manager.

You can create a new user from scratch, or you can create one by cloning an existing user and editing the properties of the clone.

Creating a new user from scratch

To create a new user from scratch:

  1. In the Persons window, navigate to the folder in which you want to create the user, and click New..
  2. On the General tab, enter the required information. For some fields, you can either enter the name of a value or click Browse to select a value from a list. [+] Show field descriptions
  3. (Optional) In the Member Of tab, click Add to add the new user to an Access Group as follows:
    1. In the Select Access Group window, either navigate to the folder in which the Access Group exists, or enter the name of the Access Group in the Search box.
    2. Click on the Access Group to which you want the new user to be a member.
    3. Click Save.
  4. In the Ranks tab, click Add to add a Rank. Enter the following information in the New window:
    • Application Type—The type of Application to which a user needs access. Consult the manuals for a GUI application to see if this application is using Ranks to enable or block certain functions. If a manual does not contain any references to Ranks, this application does not use Ranks, and you do not need to specify the Person's Ranks with respect to this application.
    • Application rank—The Rank with respect to Applications of the specified type.
  5. If the new user is an agent, click Apply to display the following tabs.
    • In the Skills tab, click the Add button to add a Skill. Enter the following information in the New window:
      • Skill—The Skill assigned to this agent.
      • Level—The relative measure of the agent's proficiency in this Skill.
    • In the Agent Logins tab, click the Add button to add an Agent Login. Enter the following information in the New window:
      • Agent Login—The Agent Login code assigned to this agent. You cannot assign an Agent Login to more than one agent.
      • Wrap-up Time—N/A
  6. Click Save.

Creating a new user by cloning

To create a new user by cloning an existing user:

  1. In the Person's window, select the user that you want to clone.
  2. Select Clone from the More menu to make a copy of that object.
  3. Open the properties of the cloned user and modify or enter properties as necessary to define the new user.

How do I modify a user?

Tip
If you are modifying only multiple agents, you might consider saving time and effort by importing the changes. See the Can I create or modify more than one agent at a time? section.

To modify the properties for a user:

  1. Either click on the user's name, or select a user in the Persons window and click Edit.
  2. Click Edit and make the necessary changes.
Tip
You can also convert an existing agent to a non-agent or an existing non-agent to an agent by clearing or selecting, respectively, the Agent checkbox in the user's properties.

How do I remove (delete) a user?

To remove (delete) an agent, refer to Common Resource Operations.

Important
When you remove a user:
  • Any objects assigned to that user are not deleted from the Database.
  • All active browser sessions associated with this user are closed. When the user next tries to access the system, he or she will be redirected to the login page.

How do I disable or enable a user?

To enable or disable an agent, refer to Common Resource Operations.

Important
  • Disabled user are not removed from your contact center; they are only removed from operations. If you want to remove the agent from your contact center completely, you must delete the agent.
  • When a user is disabled, all sessions to which the user is logged in are closed. If the disabled user tries to do any action in one of those sessions, he or she is redirected to the login page.

How do I create a new folder for users?

To create a folder:

  1. In the Persons window, navigate to the folder in which you want to create the folder, and select New Folder from the More menu.
  2. Enter a name for the folder, and click Save.

How do I move a user between folders?

To move a user between folders:

  1. In the Persons window, select the user to be moved.
  2. In the drop-down list in the Confirmation window, select the folder to which the Person is to be moved.

How do I reset a user's password?

If a user has lost or forgotten their password, or their password has been jeopardized in some way, you can force them to change their password when they next log in. Use the following steps:

  1. In the Persons window, select the user whose password is to be reset.
  2. On the General tab, select Force Password Reset on Next Login.
  3. Click Save.
Important
Force Password Reset is disabled if the password has already been flagged to be reset by the user. It is enabled only when the user logs in and clears the flag by resetting the password.

How do I set or change a user's password?

If your password policy is to not allow a user to change his or her own password, use these steps to set or change the password for a user:

  1. In the Persons window, select the user whose password is to be set or changed.
  2. On the General tab, type a new password in the Password field and then type the same password (case-sensitive) in the Confirm Password field to confirm it. Your organization might have some rules governing what makes up a valid password, so make sure that the password you enter meets these rules.
  3. Click Save.
Back to top

Feedback

Comment on this article:

blog comments powered by Disqus
This page was last modified on 29 March 2018, at 06:09.