Jump to: navigation, search

Changing The Logging Levels

LFMT logging is based on Log4J, which uses the log4j.xml file to configure several log aspects including the log level.

Log4J has six logging levels; from the lowest to the highest verbosity, those are: trace, debug, info, warn, error and fatal.

The highest verbosity levels are “trace and debug” and the lower is “fatal”. Therefore “trace” and “debug” levels should be used with caution as they create a substantial number of log messages adding overhead to the LFMT server.

By default the logs levels of the current release are set to “debug” to facilitate troubleshooting during the installation. For production environments, it is recommended to change the log levels to WARN

Each LFMT component (gax-lfmt-8.x.xxx-SNAPSHOT.jar, indexer.jar and Cfg2FileList.jar) has its own logging configuration file. For the JAR containers is necessary to extract the log4j.xml file, it can be done using a tool like JAR or WINRAR. Usually the file is in the root directory of the JAR as shown below.


The Indexer and Cfg2Filelist JARS are located in the LFM_HOME directory <LFMT Server Install Directory>\bin, commonly the log4j.xml file is placed in the root directory of the JAR or WAR file.

The SNAPSHOT file is located in “<Web Server Installation Directory>/webapp/WEB-INFclasses” directory.

To change logging levels, change the value of the level value tag to the appropriate level, save the file and put it back to the original store container. (JAR or directory).

This page was last modified on February 11, 2015, at 14:02.


Comment on this article:

blog comments powered by Disqus